Half-Head-Test

Institute Dr. Schrader

Half-Head-Test

Direct Comparison of Product Properties

Comparative assessment of two hair care products (shampoo, conditioner, hairspray, gel, mousse, etc.) is performed routinely in the half-head test, a test that has been tried and proven for decades at the institute. The hair care properties of two products are directly compared by experts. For example: What does the foam of a shampoo feel like? Which shampoo is easier to foam? Which conditioner treatment results in softer hair and easier combing? Which styling product has the greater hold? Which product gives more volume? These and other questions are covered during the tests. In the half-head test two formulas can be compared optimally on selected test subjects under temperature-controlled conditions on the basis of essential product properties.

Trained hairdressers use the products to be tested and then assess important technological hairdressing parameters. During treatment the hairdressers part the hair of the test subjects in the middle, apply two products, each to one-half of the hair, and assess the cosmetic acceptance as well as major product properties such as take out properties, foam porosity, foam consistency, foam stability, spraying rate, spray pattern, residue on comb and hair, spreadability and much more. Additionally, important properties which have a direct effect on the hair’s condition are compared on the basis of individual parameters such as hold / strengthness, stickiness, comb out, anti-static effect, shine, volume, etc.

The parameters in the half-head test vary for the different product groups – shampoo, conditioner, hairspray, hair gel, hair mousse and other products. The test subjects are recruited according to the product requirements: fine, medium-length hair for volume shampoos, curly hair for anti-frizz shampoos, damaged hair for conditioners or hair-repair shampoos.

Drooping hair caused by absorbed product components is known as the build-up effect. The more often a product is used, the stronger this negative effect becomes. Therefore in a build-up study two products are used repeatedly in the half-head test and then assessed after each application.

 

Reference:

  • Quadflieg JM, Schrader A, Jing L, Ye F, Hongyan Z and Ning S (2009). Differences Of Caucasian And Asian Hair In Hairdressing Parameters. Hair-Science Symposium, Weimar (Germany).
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Halbseitentest

Institute Dr. Schrader

Halbseitentest

Produkteigenschaften im direkten Vergleich

Die vergleichende Beurteilung zweier Haarpflegeprodukte (Shampoo, Spülung, Spray, Gel, Schaum etc.) erfolgt standardmäßig im Rahmen eines seit Jahrzehnten im Institut bewährten Halbseitentests. Es werden die pflegenden Eigenschaften von zwei Produkten direkt miteinander von Experten verglichen. Zum Beispiel: Wie fühlt sich der Schaum von Shampoos an? Welches Shampoo lässt sich besser aufschäumen? Welche Spülung/Kur führt zu weicherem Haar und leichterer Kämmbarkeit des Haares? Welches Stylingprodukt besitzt die höhere Festigkeit? Mit welchem Produkt bekommt man mehr Volumen? Diese und andere Fragen werden während der Tests behandelt. Im Halbseitentest ist der optimale Vergleich von zwei Rezepturen anhand wesentlicher Produkteigenschaften an ausgewählten Probanden unter klimatisierten Bedingungen möglich.

Geschulte Friseurinnen wenden die zu prüfenden Produkte an und beurteilen anschließend die friseurtechnischen Parameter. Während der Anwendung scheiteln die Friseure das Kopfhaar der Prüfpersonen in der Mitte, applizieren die zwei Produkte jeweils halbseitig auf die Haare und beurteilen die kosmetische Akzeptanz sowie wesentliche Produkteigenschaften wie Entnahme, Porigkeit des Schaumes, Schaumkonsistenz, Schaumstabilität, Sprührate, Sprühbild, Verteilung im Haar, Rückstände im Kamm und Haar und vieles mehr.  Zudem werden wichtige Eigenschaften, die einen direkten Effekt auf den Zustand der Haare haben, anhand einzelner Parameter wie Festigung, Klebrigkeit, Auskämmbarkeit, antielektrostatische Wirkung, Glanz, Volumen usw. vergleichend bewertet.

Die Parameter im Halbseitentest variieren für die verschiedenen Produktgruppen Shampoo, Spülung, Haar-Spray, Haar-Gel, Haar-Schaum und andere Produkte. Die Probanden werden entsprechend den Produktanforderungen rekrutiert: feines, mittellanges Haar für Volumenshampoos, gekräuseltes Haar für Anti-Frizz-Shampoos, strapaziertes Haar für Haar-Spülungen oder Hair-Repair-Shampoos.

Unter Beschwerung des Haares (Build-up effect) wird ein Herunterhängen des Haares verstanden, das durch aufgezogene Produktbestandteile hervorgerufen wird. Je häufiger ein Produkt angewendet wird, desto stärker ist dieser negative Effekt. Bei einer Build-up-Studie werden daher zwei Produkte im Halbseitentest mehrmals angewendet und nach jeder Anwendung beurteilt.

 

Literatur:

  • Quadflieg JM, Schrader A, Jing L, Ye F, Hongyan Z and Ning S (2009). Differences Of Caucasian And Asian Hair In Hairdressing Parameters. Hair-Science Symposium, Weimar (Germany).
Print Friendly, PDF & Email